18/12/22 Roundup – Key messages & Term dates (all year groups)

Behind the scenes this week

The last week in school before the winter break is a delicate balance between excited festivities and a dedicated last push of learning.

I can’t applaud those students enough who have caught one of the many colds going around, taken some medication and got themselves in. A tired student will always learn more in a lesson, surrounded by their peers and taking in what they can, than someone who is at home but we recognise how difficult it is to come in when you don’t feel 100%. So, to our students, thank you.

Our teachers have honoured their dedication by keeping lessons going until the last day. When visiting lessons I’ve seen a mixture of students earnestly trying their best in their assessments, others intently watching an education video while poised to furiously take notes and our high expectations being reinforced by the sharing of a beautiful piece of work from a student. So, to all our teaching and support staff, thank you.

I hope your holiday is full of special moments, joy and rejuvenation. Allowing us all to make the most of what is already looking to be a very busy new year. If not please remember you are never alone and there is help if you reach out (please see below for just one example).

Finally, a gentle reminder students are not expected back in school until Thursday 5th January 2023. Take care and Happy Holidays from all of us at Thomas Alleyne’s High School.

Fundraising

Thank you to all parents, students and staff for making our annual Christmas jumper day and non-uniform day a huge success.  We have raised £1121.75 to be shared between two very worthy local charities:  Dougie Mac and YESS.

Support with mental health during the holidays

Please see the poster below from Mental Health Support Team in Schools with regards to accessing supoprt for mental health during the holidays.

News from the last 7 days

Other round up news this week that you may have missed:

Thursday

Bras for Kenya, Computing and English

Friday

Head of house update, Sixth form and Future intentions

TERM DATES  ACADEMIC YEAR 2022 – 2023

Holiday: Monday 19 December – Monday 2 January

Spring Term 2023

Inset day: Tuesday 3 January

Inset day: Wednesday 4 January

Term starts: Thursday 5 January

Holiday: Monday 20 February – Friday 24 February

Term ends: Friday 31 March 

Holiday: Monday 3 April – Friday 14 April

Easter Sunday: Sunday 9 April

Summer Term 2023

Inset day: Monday 17th April

Term starts: Tuesday 18 April

May Day: Monday 1 May

Holiday: Monday 29 May – Friday 2 June

Term ends: Tuesday 25 July

Holiday: Wednesday 26 July – Friday 1 September

School Website

School Shop

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s